2023 Favorites

Sliding in here with a list of my favorite things from the last year – new films, new-to-me old films, books and more! This is just a short and sweet post, very casual! Hope you enjoy and maybe see things worth checking out!

Favorite 2023 Films

There are a few more films that premiered in 2023 that I still want and need to check out, a list of those releases I saw in full coming *hopefully* in time for The Oscars… But I thought I would include my three favorites of the year as that feels very solid to me. These were the new movies that instantly struck a cord with me, providing such loving viewing experiences when I got to see them. Instant classics for me!

The Holdovers (2023)

Barbie (2023)

Asteroid City (2023)

Favorite Film Discoveries

I combed over all the movies I watched in 2023 and came up with 20 new-to-me favorites. It was hard to narrow down, but 20 felt like a nice clean number. I won’t dwell too much on them as I have written about all of them across my various monthly wrap-ups of the year… So without further ado and in no particular order or rank here they are! All come highly recommended by yours truly!

All I Desire (1953)

The Mad Miss Manton (1938)

Working Girl (1988)

Desperately Seeking Susan (1985)

Blithe Spirit (1945)

Pickup on South Street (1953)

Black Christmas (1974)

A Matter of Life and Death (1946)

Rhubarb (1951)

The Bridges of Madison County (1995)

Party Girl (1995)

Contempt (1963)

Topkapi (1964)

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)

The Great Muppet Caper (1981)

The Big Chill (1983)

The Verdict (1982)

Pride and Prejudice (1940)

Hail the Conquering Hero (1944)

Léon Morin, Priest (1961)

Favorite Books

2023 was a very solid year for reads! I read over 40 books and narrowed this list down to the 10 I enjoyed most. This is also a good snapshot of my varied interests when it comes to picking reads – Vintage Harlequins, varied and eclectic YA and some denser subject matter. I also kept this to books I loved but had not read before. Similar with my film discoveries these are listed in no particular order.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Great or Nothing by Joy McCullough, Caroline Tung Richmond, Tess Sharpe & Jessica Spotswood

An Offer from a Gentleman by Julia Quinn

Let Me Tell You: New Stories, Essays and Other Writings by Shirley Jackson

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

And Falsely Pledge My Love by Mary Burchell

Winter at Cray by Lucy Gillen

Beckoning Trails by Emilie Loring

Roses for Christmas by Betty Neels

Donna Parker at Cherrydale by Marcia Martin

Miscellaneous Favorites

To wrap things up here is a list of random things that brought me a-lot of joy in 2023…

The Year of Taylor Swift – I am a huge Taylor Swift fan (have been solidly since circa 2008). The year of 2023 in many ways felt like her year. From the global concert, accolades, news, re-releases and of course the tour film! Excited for what more 2024 may have in store!

Summer of Barbie – Another blonde had quite the year and that was Barbie! The summer of Barbie was such a fun moment in time, it had been awhile since going to the theater felt like such an event. The outfits, joy and celebration of girlhood and imagination was wonderful!

Bridgerton – I am a tad late to this party as Bridgerton on Netflix premiered back in 2020. I never felt sure if it would be something up my alley or not. Back in February 2023 I decided to dip my toe in and see, within a short period of time I had already binged the first two seasons. I was instantly charmed! The show was romantic but also witty and full of easily enjoyable characters… After that initial discovery I quickly read the first four books of the series and watched Queen Charlotte when it came out later in the year. Currently in eager anticipation of Season 3 coming this spring!

See you soon!

Leave a comment